The Lion & The Lamb Bed & Breakfast
913 2nd Ave, Vinton, Iowa 52349

The Ellis House History

This beautifully restored Queen Anne, Victorian mansion was built in 1892 by W.C. Ellis who owned the Ellis & Son lumber mill.

The unique architecture is highlighted by seven colors to detail this beautiful "Painted Lady". Inside there are seven fireplaces each with ornate wood & tiled mantles. Walk through pocket doors into rooms with ten foot ceilings and parquet floors. Behold vibrant fall colors through stained glass windows. Ascending the beautiful open staircase from the oak paneled Great Hall, is only a sampling of the six species of woodwork through out the home.

L&Lwinter.jpg (1049337 bytes)

Ellis was a co-founder and president of the Kelly Canning Company in 1892.

In 1895 the company was re-established as the Iowa Canning Company with Ellis as vice president and was considered the largest operation of its kind in the world. There were two banks in Vinton, at the turn of the century, Ellis was president of one bank and vice president of the other. He was quite the entrepreneur.

With a desire to preserve the history of this beautiful home, the Waterbury's, who purchased the house in July of 1993 lovingly restored it and named the six bedrooms after the Ellis' and their children.